Dear Emily, (6 months)

OMG!!! Where has the last 6 months gone. Time is going crazy fast.

So we got back from America (where you were amazing) but I knew it couldn’t last. You have serious jetlag, and keep waking up twice in the night. I know I need to stop feeding you in the night, but every time I try and stop I am just too tired to pace the floor with you, plus your cry is like opening a tap on mummy’s milk and so I give in. Your dad has more patience than me, so he has tried a couple of nights and now you don’t get fed in the night and sleep through from 7.30-5am.

A lot has been going on for you this month with regards to sleep time. You are now in your own room… Ekkkk!! We’ve set up the angel care monitor just for that little piece of mind. I know there is mixed debate about the angel care monitor. You didn’t have one for the first 6 months, but I’m not 100% comfortable with you in your own room and it puts me at ease. Mummy also tried controlled crying, I lasted 3 days and decided you’re too young. You weren’t really having any of it, and screamed the house down, so my thinking is try again in a few months. We can’t do everything all at once, hey.

Now on to your development… You’re now grabbing things with two hands which is exciting. Although pinching mummy’s arms is your new favourite pass time and it really hurts. You’re mastering the art of sitting up. We put the breastfeeding cushion behind you just incase you fall over. You are so much more alert now, and love all your toys. Your bubble sensory lamp (Argos, is now a big hit (finally), you also like Vtech Crawl & learn rotating ball (£16 from Entertainer). No signs of crawling yet though, I do try different activities to help you, but you have no interest haha. You are definitely stubborn, and I wonder where you get that from???  You are however becoming more vocal, and are starting to make the cutest sounds.

You have also started trying different foods, but that’s for another page…

IMG_8463

With your development, you always seem to be a few weeks behind your friends. I think the sleepyhead stops you from moving in your sleep, which might be hindering you rolling? I hate to admit it, but mummy does think why isn’t emily doing that? You’ll learn one of mummy’s bad traits is she’s competitive and it’s not a nice quality. You will learn to do things in your own time and your own way and mummy needs to chill. No two babies are the same, and I shouldn’t compare you to other babies. You might be a couple weeks behind but you are the smilest, happiest baby I’ve ever met and I wouldn’t change a thing about you.

Love you more than the world

xxx

 

Leave a Reply

