Dear Emily, (your first holiday)

First Holiday : 5 months Old (For 3 and a bit Weeks to US.)

So your first time on a plane and you fly upper class to New York!!! Daddy had airmiles so we thought why not, don’t get used to that though because by the time you read this we will probably be poor because mummy keeps buying too much stuff and daddy is threatening divorce (only playing).

On the flight we were expecting the worst, I had two bags of toys, a wrap carrier thing, bottles and I even brought dummies just incase. But you were amazing!! You were quite happy just chilling watching movies. We fed you on the way up and down, but the pressure didn’t seem to bother you. You even adapted to the time zone difference… I mean, how? I actually got a little concerned you were being too good and something was wrong. Your car seat was a god send, because otherwise getting taxi’s would have been a nightmare. We took you strolling around New York and we showed you were mummy & daddy got engaged. You even travelled on the subway. Getting around isn’t as easy as it used to be, but we managed. We took you out for dinners and made sure we got you back home at a resonanble time.

Then we flew from New York to Florida and the fun began. You were not happy, and we were trying our best to entertain you. I overheard a lady in front saying she gives her kids benedril before a flight! Why does everyone have an opinion and feel the need to express it??!!! Especially strangers!! Anyways we arrived in Florida, Daddy lost mummy’s wallet on the plane and so we didn’t get off to the best of starts, needless to stay mummy was very angry. Unfortunately you and me seem to be moody at the same time.

Florida was amazing, your auntie & uncle loved you very much but I was overwhelmed with how much your cousins love you. Channon & Naomi were fighting over who could cuddle and give you your bottle, you’re a very loved little girl. The heat in Florida was a bit of a worry for me, as it was in the 30’s. On really hot nights you just slept in a rest. Also on holiday, I seemed to forget time… this meant all of a sudden I would look at the time and think, god I need to feed you or change your nappy and then id get in a faff… I know what your thinking, mummy, faff, never! haha….

IMG_7627.JPG

Then the time came for mummy & daddy to go to Nashville. WITHOUT YOU 😬 We went for 3 nights, and I was wracked in guilt for leaving you. Although we were having an amazing time, I did say to your dad shall we go home a day early to see you. He wasn’t having any of it, and actually got a bit upset with mummy as I should have just relaxed. I think when you’re a mummy relaxing, is actually a tough job. You didn’t care, you were having a brilliant time. You even covered auntie claire in a gigantic projectile poo πŸ˜‚ When we got back, you sat up on your own!! Wow, I got so excited. Little did I know you did it in the 3 days I was away from you. Why does that always seem to happen.

 

We then went down to Key West, it was such a long drive for you but your lovely cousins sat in the back with you and we’re keeping you entertained. This is when we found your love for finding nemo. When we got back to Florida, you went to all the parks and went on some rides. Your favourite was the new avatar ride, as its sensory overload it was brilliant seeing your little eyes light up.

Now don’t get me wrong, we had a very different holiday, than we used to have. But you were so chilled on holiday. I couldn’t have wished for a more well behaved baby. I hope it continues, but we will see. Isn’t it good baby naughty toddler? 😬

Love Mummy x

Few Items that we found useful (not including bottles, nappies etc) ….

– Car Seat (wrap in bubble wrap and buy a check in bag, Β£10 from Amazon)

– Stroller (that your not fussed about. We bought a silvercross zest.)

– Sleepyhead (god send, emily’s home away from home, we just put it in the travel cot)

Leave a Reply

