Useful Purchases in our First 3 Months!

My new favourite hobby is shopping. I had a problem before, but now even my neighbour has commented on how many parcels I get delivered 😬 For all you new mums out there, here are some items that were useful for us. All babies are different, so what works for some, may not work for others. By no means am I an expert and I’d love to hear what worked & didn’t for you.

Sleeping

We started off with a Moses basket but Emily was having none of it! Dan didn’t want me to buy a sleepyhead as he said it was too much money. Funny, when you get no sleep you are willing to pay anything for a nights sleep. So after 3 nights of no sleep, he caved and told me to order it and try it. For the first week the sleepyhead was in our bed. Then we decided it was time for a crib. The Chico next to me was expensive but made me feel at ease knowing I could see her. At first we attached it to the bed. At 9 weeks I was ready to put the sides up. Sleeping Bags are also a god send! Emily didn’t go into hers until about 4 weeks, but you can buy newborn ones which are smaller from JoJo Maman Bebe.

Chicco Crib Next To Me – £169 from John Lewis.

Sleepy Head – £120 from John Lewis

Sleeping Bags (recommend buying 2) – £15 Mamas & Papas

Monitor – £114.99 Motorola Video Camera from Argos

Ewen the Sheep – £29.99 Amazon Prime (Now this didn’t work for us, but really worked for a few friends).

Night Light – £13.99 Amazon Prime (Good for Night feeds)

Feeding

The pain when you first start breastfeeding is tough! It’s not as easy as NCT make out so be prepared. At about 8 weeks the pain stoped for me and it became a litter easier. Right from the start, I expressed and Emily had 1 expressed bottle a night. It made me feel more comfortable knowing how much she had. Plus it’s really nice to get Dan involved. At about 10 weeks we introduced a formula feed at night time as it seems to fill her up more which means more sleep for me! 😀👍🏻

Lanolin – £10 Any pharmacy/supermarket. This cream really does help soothe your nipples. Everyone I have spoken to found it useful.

Munchkin Latch Bottles – £14.95 Amazon Prime  ( We started with Teat 2, as Teat 1 was too slow) Great bottles for breast fed babies. Emily wouldn’t take tommee tippee which are a much cheaper alternative.

Sterilising Bags – £10 Amazon Prime (when you only need to do 1 bottle a night , this option is way quicker)

Medala Pump – £99.99 Amazon Prime (you can also get a double pump which is quicker)

Perfect Prep Machine – £59.99 Amazon Prime (only needed for formula)

Storage Bags – for milk

Breast Feeding Pads – Any pharmacy/supermarket

Rocking Feeding Chair – ? I borrowed this from a friend.

Washing & Changing

First few weeks we just used cotton wool and water.We started bathing Emily twice a week after a few weeks. Then about 8 weeks everynight, but more so for the routine. We didn’t use any products until about 10 weeks and now we use them every other bath. Things like clothes (you’ll want newborn & 0-3 months), nail scissors, change mat, Nappy bags, sudacrem, cotton wool balls etc are standard.

Pampers Premium Protection – I tried Tesco, Aldi & Sainsburys and pampers were the best for me.

Yippie Toes Bath – £13.99 Amazon prime It still took me 8 weeks to let go of her.

Water Wipes – £17 Amazon Prime (buy in bulk.)

Childs Farm Sensitive Baby Wash – £3.99 Any supermarket or Pharmacy (Apparently Johnson & Johnson shouldn’t be used on newborns because it has chemicals in??)

Tommee Tippee Bath Thermometer – £9.99 Amazon Prime (I didn’t buy one until recently, & everytime I bathed her I worried the tempreture wasn’t right. This just eases my mind. It also shows room tempreture.)

Non Bio washing powder & Comfort Pure fabric softener .

Grape Seed Oil – £5.99 Holland & Barrett. Great for baby massage & dry skin .

Dentinox (For cradle cap) – This was recommended to me, but I’m yet to find someone who sticks it. I’ve tried everywhere.

Change Bag – £65 Jojo Maman Bebe. Get a back pack one , sooo much easier.

Braun Thermoscan 7 – £38.99 Amazon Prime

Toys / Development

First 8 Weeks they don’t do much and we really let Emily do as she wished. By 8 weeks Emily really started enjoying the toys people had bought her. In hindsight I would have done more tummy time early on as we struggled with it to start with.

Tummy Time Roller – £14.99 mothercare (OMG – Amazing! Really helps neck & chest strength. Tummy time is much more enjoyable.)

Soft Toy & Rattle – £7.27 Amazon Prime

Playmat – we got given this, but I recommend one that goes in a triangle at the top.

Wrist & Feet Rattles – £12.99 Amazon Prime

Sensory Light – (Present)

Bouncing Chair – Mamas & Papas

Baby Mobile – We didn’t get one because I was scared of it being over her. Big mistake! I’m getting one this week. Get one that can hooks on car seat and play Matt.

Baby Sparks App – £22 for the year (gives you development information & activities to do every day)

Other

Car Seat – £ Isofix , Maxicosi  (From a family member)

Mirror for car (Present)

Pram – £450 Bugaboo (2nd hand, from Facebook sight. However it was a friend of a friend, so we knew it was in good condition)

I’m sure as soon as I post this I’ll think of other stuff, but for now I hope this helps new mums X

Leave a Reply

